Post new topic   Reply to topic    Sanctus Covenir Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RavelinEisen
Novice

re: New FFXIV Novice

I am John, a 58 year old guy living in the Appalachians in North Georgia. My job is not demanding and my youngest son is 24, so other than taking care of my wife, I have lots of free time. I have been playing MMOs since 2003--including Everquest Online Adventures, Everquest II, LOTRO, Final Fantasy XIV, DC Universe Online, and Conan Exiles.

I only lasted for a year on FFXIV my first time around because I never found a community. Since I had been a member of a healthy cross-game guild since 2005, with scant drama and many long-time friendships, I knew there was a community for me out there, but I never found it. When my middle son started playing FFXIV last year, I decided I'd try again, and three members of my long-time guild joined up with me. After a couple of months, the other players' demands of family, jobs and other games reduced our FFXIV play to once or twice per month, at most--with a 3 month hiatus. So the experience became lonely again.

After trying to recruit members that were similar to us for a couple of months, I gave up. Then I saw the Community Finder ad for Sanctus Covenir. The long history and the venerable application process told me that these were my people. After being around for just a day, I think I was right. Those of you whom I have met are delightful--ready to talk about game experiences, work experiences, keyboard/mouse use styles, and about anything.

Other than gaming, I listen to podcasts and music and take care of my wife, whom I met at a D&D game in 1981 and married in 1984.

Gerhart STC
High Councilor

Awarded:

RavelinEisen,